• Your one stop for college news and resources!
On Campus

Nobel Peace Prize awarded to three women leaders

Nobel Peace Prize awarded to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee, Tawakkol Karman

This year’s Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to three women for their “non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights.”

The Washington Post reports that Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Liberian activist Leymah Gbowee and Yemeni opposition leader Tawakkul Karman have jointly been awarded the prize for their contributions to peace in Liberia and the struggle for democracy in Yemen.

Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, Thorbjoern Jagland, announced the prize, saying, “We cannot achieve democracy and lasting peace in the world unless women obtain the same opportunities as men to influence developments at all levels of society.”

Amnesty International’s Salil Shetty has hailed the committee’s decision, saying, “This Nobel Peace Prize recognizes what human rights activists have known for decades: that the promotion of equality is essential to building just and peaceful societies worldwide. The tireless work of these and countless other activists brings us closer to a world where women will see their rights protected and enjoy growing influence at all levels of government.”

Read more about the Nobel Peace Prize winners at the Washington Post and at Amnesty International.

Previous ArticleNext Article


  1. I simply want to mention I am just all new to blogs and seriously liked you’re page. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your blog post . You absolutely come with beneficial stories. Many thanks for sharing your website page.

  2. I know there are lots of firefox addons that help manage saving pictures, but what I am specifically looking for is, one which can allow me to simply paste the picture link and it will download the picture from that link. . Reason being, the pictures I am saving is has their own individual link and NOT on the same page itself..

Leave a Reply